4 Comments

I immediately feel the draw towards wanting to develop a positive, gentle relationship with my cycle but am blocked by negative emotions off the cuff around my cycle.

The cramps, the irregularity, the numerous doctors bills, the herbal supplements, the diets, the list goes on...something I desire to care for on a deep level but feel as if it is disconnected and foreign to me via pain and hormone imbalances that I can't seem to fix.

I have been enjoying learning more from your posts and also taking it slow with this relationship between me and my cycle, a courtship if you will. Good things take time.

Expand full comment

I think as an adolescent/young adult I was numb to it. I wanted it to impact as little of my life as possible. When I started having children it felt like a means to an end. It was at least functional, and served a purpose - even if it was still uncomfortable and a nuisance. In the last 5ish years after some health issues, I began to learn about it for the first time in my life! Now I'm obsessed with it and love talking about it and noticing it all through the month, not just when I'm bleeding.

Expand full comment